Veritas Vos Liberabit – The Truth shall set you free

September 13, 2006

Giving blood

Filed under: Personal — Dave Persing @ 7:41 pm

Tonight, I was talked into giving blood. It was a first for me! I’m not sure what’s more gratifying…The lightheadedness or the fact that I’m potentially helping someone else. Only downer is that I’m now probably going to have give every 6 weeks because of my blood type. The universal donor. Type O Negative. Doh. Stupid genes!

It was also part of the whole facing fears thing. I hate needles. They make me crazy. I decided I was going to give it a shot (pardon the pun). I still don’t like needles. However, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was expecting! Pretty soon, if all goes well, I’ll be fine with being poked and prodded at the blood bank.

It’s okay. I’m a little bitter that I’m not really supposed to drink beer right afterward though.

Oh well!

Shangri-la is going well. Thus far, I’ve lost 6 pounds while on the diet for almost two weeks. Pretty solid! I just have to keep reminding myself that this is an ongoing process. NOT something that will happen overnight. If I think about how much weight I really want to lose and what I want my weight to be, it gets pretty discouraging! Little by little.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

