Veritas Vos Liberabit – The Truth shall set you free

September 8, 2006

Shangri-La Day 4 and meeting new people.

Filed under: Personal, Shangri-La — Dave Persing @ 7:01 pm

Today was great.  I finally got my builder project nearly completed after several hours of frustrating bugs.  It built everything I asked it to!  Yay!

Shangri-la is going well.  I’ve been talking the oil only and I prefer it very strongly.  The insulin spike wasn’t worth it.  It made me irritable.  No one likes that.  Trust me.  I woke up and wasn’t hungry.  I went to work and wasn’t hungry.  I finally forced myself to eat some carrots, the last of the celery, and a protein bar (Double fudge brownie!).  It’s so strange to NOT be hungry all the time!  I still need to get a scale.  Tomorrow will be the day I run errands.

Today, while outside enjoying the beautiful day, I met a new person.  A very nice German intern guy that works at one of the other companies in our office complex.  He has quite possibly the best English that I’ve heard from someone from Europe.  It was amazing.  Grammar, vocabulary, everything.  After I introduced myself and started walking back into my office, I realized that a life change has been made in the last couple of years.  Call it maturity, call it what you will, but for me it is something rather intense.  For the longest time, I didn’t meet new people very easily.  I had a hard time “putting myself out there” if you will.  For some reason, I had this paranoia of what they thought of me, what they were saying, et cetera.  It was completely and utterly irrational.

Finally, I started fixing it.  I started singing karaoke.  Yep, karaoke.  Strange, you ask?  Karaoke is a type of activity that requires getting up in front of larger groups of people.  Sometimes ten, sometimes a hundred.  Either way, it doesn’t matter.  The point is, I was terrified to get up and sing in front of a herd.  Finally, on my 22nd birthday (while rather intoxicated) the karaoke DJ, Jeremy “Silent J” Ormsbee, signed me up for a song.  After some coaxing, I did it.

It was awful.

The thrill of trying something new and had never done before made me realize that I didn’t care about the (unfortunate) people in the audience!
My endpoint is this: I believe it is absolutely necessary for us to face our fears, whatever they may be.  Be it change resistance or meeting new people, singing karaoke or a fear of heights.  Often, this presents a challenge for us to become better people and more well-rounded individuals better suited for the real world.  Facing that challenge is a good thing.  It will make us stronger.  I promise!

I’m done waxing philosophical now.  What challenges or fears have you faced?  What was the outcome?

1 Comment »

  1. […] It was also part of the whole facing fears thing. I hate needles. They make me crazy. I decided I was going to give it a shot (pardon the pun). I still don’t like needles. However, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was expecting! Pretty soon, if all goes well, I’ll be fine with being poked and prodded at the blood bank. […]

    Pingback by Giving blood « Veritas Vos Liberabit - The Truth shall set you free — September 13, 2006 @ 8:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

